You’re not bugging us!


I know I’m not the only one who experiences what I’m about to write about.  I debated whether to even do it.  Perhaps it’s my mood and everything that’s going on, but I decided to do it.

It’s not just those of us with special needs children, or those whose children have medical issues, it’s a lot of us whose children have been/are ill, regardless what it is and even the severity. It’s any one of us who has had a loved one in a similar situation.

We’ve all experienced this in some form or another.  I’m going to speak from my experience, particularly recent events in the past number of months.

Please don’t get me wrong, we truly and honestly appreciate everyone’s thoughts, prayers, support and hugs.  It feels wonderful knowing someone else and/or others are thinking of you during a bit of a difficult time.

We appreciate the messages, bbm’s, texts and phone calls from family and friends asking how things are going and how Patrick is doing.  It’s not always easy to sit down and write everything, as I’ve mentioned before.  It’s easier to sit down and talk to someone or speak on the phone if they aren’t able to visit.

We love the visits, even if Patrick is fatigued, he usually perks up for a bit when someone is here, then relaxes again.  The visits make us feel like we’re still connected, we get to see a face instead of hearing a voice, or reading words on a phone or computer.

Now here is what frustrates and saddens me.  Many people who you would normally hear from fairly often, seem to go quiet.  Many people are afraid to call or visit.  They feel like they are ‘bugging’ me/us.  Their thought is…she’s dealing with enough, she doesn’t need to have me bugging her too…

Yes, things are busy.  Yes, we are dealing with a lot at the moment.  It doesn’t mean you have to make the choice for us and assume we don’t need to hear from you because we “have enough on our plate already.”

We’re still here.  We’re still us.  We’d love to hear from and/or see you.  I understand some people are uncomfortable being around people who are ill, especially children.  Many don’t know what to say.  You don’t have to say anything.  Just be yourself and talk as we would normally talk.  Ask for updates and/or questions if you like, it’s ok, I don’t mind.  Knowledge is power and helps us understand and in many cases know how to respond or deal to a situation.

And please know…

You’re not bugging us!! 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “You’re not bugging us!

  1. Well said Renee, I guess a lot of us get caught-up in our own worlds, that we do forget that a visit of phone call would be appreciated. We will set something up soon!.

    ((HUGS)) and love to you both always, Sylvia.

Leave a Reply

