The Funding Process – What you should know!


Technically, I should have started writing about this last summer when I first started doing this.  It’s been a year now, and with all I have learned, especially the past few months, I felt this should be shared; so anyone else going through the same processes could possibly have that extra information before-hand and know what will BE expected and what TO expect.

I am speaking about getting an accessible vehicle and going through the processes of applying for the grants that are available to help.  Who would have thought this would take so much and give you stress?  This is supposed to help make things easier, isn’t it?

I am in the middle of all this, so to speak.  I have approvals from 2 of the 3 main grants offered.  What I have learned in, more so in the past month, is unreal!  I thank a couple of gentlemen, Renaud from Motion Specialties and Glen from Goldline Mobility and Conversions, for being so great and forth-coming with information about these processes, that no one else seems to tell you.  I’ve learned a lot from these guys in the past month or so.  Thank you!

Let me begin by giving the top 3 main grants available that one can apply to for an accessible vehicle.

Easter Seals – up to a maximum $3000 – strictly for modification.  Also note, individuals are only entitled to $3000 a year through Easter Seals to cover whatever needs/equipment there might be.  If anything totals more than that maximum, other funding sources will need to be looked at.

President’s Choice Children’s Charity – up to a maximum of $20,000 – PC is a little more lenient in that once modifications are paid for, any remaining of that can be put towards the purchase of the vehicle.

Let me interject a very important point here before I carry on:  Modifications come FIRST!!

March of Dimes – up to a maximum of $15,000 – again, strictly for modifications.  (March of Dimes has the HVMP – Home/Vehicle Modification Program.  The amounts are the same for both, $15,000 for Home modifications and $15,000 for Vehicle modifications)

To apply for any of these, you will be asked if you have applied to any other funding that is available to you.  If you haven’t, you must, for your application to be considered.

Follow along as I update you and take you through this process.  I will be adding what has happened thus far and what I’ve learned and continue to be learning about this process.  It’s a lot I must say and much I’m sure many aren’t aware of!

Stay tuned….

Leave a Reply

