Persons with disabilities play sports too!


The other day while at the Orthotics office with my son, I noticed and grabbed a magazine called Play2Podium.  It states it’s a magazine for special needs families.  This was a free sample copy of the Winter 2011 edition.

While going through it I found some great information on sports for people with disabilities to participate in.  I did some more looking and found some more sites!  I’ve bookmarked all the ones I have found so far into one folder and will certainly keep them handy when I hear of others looking for something to get involved in.

I wanted to share them with you.  Some will fall into the winter sports and as you know, winter will be here soon enough! 😉

Canadian Amputee Sports Associationhttp://canadianamputeesports.ca/index.html

Canadian Blind Sportshttp://canadianblindsports.ca/eng/index.htm

Canada Para-Alpine Ski Teamhttp://canski.org/para-alpine-ski-team

The Canadian Cerebral Palsy Sports Associationhttp://ccpsa.ca/en/default.aspx

Canadian Electric Wheelchair Hockey Associationhttp://cewha.ca/

Canadian Wheelchair Sports Associationhttp://www.cwsa.ca/en/site/

Canadian Association for Disabled Skiinghttp://disabledskiing.ca/

Ontario Sledge Hockey Associationhttp://ontariosledge.com/

ParaSport Ontariohttp://www.parasportontario.ca/Default.aspx

Wheelchair Basketball Canadahttp://www.wheelchairbasketball.ca/en/homePage.aspx

ParaEquestrian Canadahttp://www.equinecanada.ca/para-equestrian/

Ontario Blind Sports Associationhttp://blindsports.on.ca/

Wheelchair Tennishttp://www.tenniscanada.com/tennis_canada/Pub/DisplayPage.aspx?enc=WqmHTIXb3hZBDLgekBXg/g16dCnUPZfiIR142ql1ulNxfx5r0F1EFukdEywK7teN7x7gN9vSqE+iOWSfJQywCw==

Special Olympics Canadahttp://www.specialolympics.ca/

Special Olympics Ontariohttp://www.specialolympicsontario.com/

Special Olympic Sports:

Winter Sports

  • Alpine Skiing
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • Curling
  • Figure Skating
  • Floor Hockey
  • Snowshoeing
  • Speed Skating

Summer Sports

  • Aquatics
  • Athletics (Track & Field)
  • Bowling (5 & 10 Pin)
  • Power-lifting
  • Rhythmic Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Canadian Wheelchair Curling Instruction Videoshttp://www.curling.ca/start-curling/wheelchair-curling-instruction/

See anything of interest to you or a family member?  Check it out further by visiting their website.  So much is gained by participating!

I will add more as I come across them, but I think we’ve got a good start here! 🙂

Looking to volunteer?  Each of these sports I’m sure welcome volunteers! 🙂 Contact the sites for more information on volunteering and/or if you have questions about the sport.

Till next time…

Get involved and play hard! 🙂

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s