People First – Not disability


This is my little rant for today!

How many times have you heard someone speaking about or describing someone as a ‘disabled person/child’?  How many times have YOU yourself used that terminology as well?

Have you ever been given a ‘name’, nickname or otherwise for something you did that you didn’t like or care for, yet people still refer to you by that name to this day?  This hopefully gives you a little bit of an idea of what I’m trying to say here.  It’s not exact, but the context is similar.

What can’t people look at the PERSON first!?!  That’s who they are after all.  A person/child…who happen to have some challenges and/or have a disability(ies).

I DO NOT have a disabled child!!  I have a CHILD who happens to have a disability!

He is NOT ‘that kid’!  He is NOT that ‘disabled child/boy’!  His name is Patrick…and if you ever have the pleasure and honour of meeting him one day…you will meet a great young man, with many wonderful qualities who will bring a smile to your face like no other!

I don’t want you feeling sorry for me either because my son is who he is.  I’m very proud of him!  Accessibility may hinder some of the things he can do and access, but he can do whatever he wants to do and try!   He just might have to do it differently!

People with disabilities don’t want you feeling sorry for them.  They deserve respect like everyone else.

Society is slowly changing it’s outlook, realizing and accepting that we all have the same rights, and that making our cities as accessible as possible for everyone is certainly the right thing to do!  Whether the disability is visual, physical, mental and even sometimes invisible…just to name a few…in God’s eyes there are no differences…just people!

We should all look at people and things through God’s eyes…imagine how great that would be!!

Thanks for letting me rant/vent today!  If you have any comments/stories to share, or any questions, please feel free to comment or email me.  I’d be happy to reply!

Let me end by sharing the 2 Gold ribbons my son brought home from track and field yesterday!  Does he look proud or what!!  I know I am! 🙂

Have a great day friends!!

Leave a Reply

