A busy summer coming


It looks like summer will be busy after all!  I can’t believe school will be done in a week and a half already!

I’m volunteering for the National Special Olympic Games this summer here in London, ON.  I will be a marshall for the swimming, as well as helping with the athletes during the opening ceremonies on the Tues night.  The games are the week of the 11th in July.

I have been helping with the marketing and promotions for the games too.  Attending events between now the games to make people more aware of the games, what’s going on and what its about.

Next week is orientation.  I have offered to arrive early to help out there as well, with registration, handing out uniforms etc…  I’m looking forward to the games, it will be a great time!

I have family coming down from NS to check out the games as well.  My uncle coaches some of the athletes in Halifax for baseball.  It will be great to see them as well 🙂

As for Patrick, he’d like to attend the drama camp with the Original Kids theatre again this year.  He attended 2 yrs ago and enjoyed it.  Not sure what plays they’ll do this year, but I’m hoping we are able to find another respite worker who will be able to attend with him, since Andrea is not able to this year.

We are also waiting to hear about a weekly camp for augmentative communication, working on core vocabulary.  It would be for 8 weeks, every Tues morning, starting July 6th.  It sounds like they’ve gotten enough interest to go ahead with the program, so we’re waiting to hear the final word.  I think it will be great for Patrick, and if necessary, I can attend that one with him.

Aside from spending a week with his Dad as well this summer, I’m hoping to get out with him to a few different places as well.  He wants to go to NS again, lol, we’ll see what the summer brings 🙂

What’s going on with you this summer? 🙂

Leave a Reply

